New backup and Restore functionality

jwvanderbeck's Avatar

jwvanderbeck

03 Dec, 2009 07:31 PM

As discussed in a feature request here I have been looking into an overhaul of the Backup & Restore functionality, and i've pretty much narrowed down what i'm looking to do.

Here is a screenshot of what the new form is going to look like.

Showing page 2 out of 2. View the first page

  1. 31 Posted by Alex "Alex... on 08 Dec, 2009 06:34 AM

    Alex "Alexspeed" Bachner's Avatar

    There is a Typo in the Beta 1.9.3 in the description you added:

    "sessions are store in My Documents\DAModder\Backup"

  2. Support Staff 32 Posted by jwvanderbeck on 08 Dec, 2009 06:48 AM

    jwvanderbeck's Avatar

    Thanks. Fixed.

    I'm running on massive amounts of Chery Coke right now so i'm very wired and bound to make typing mistakes.

  3. jwvanderbeck closed this discussion on 08 Dec, 2009 06:55 AM.

  4. Alex "Alexspeed" Bachner re-opened this discussion on 08 Dec, 2009 06:58 AM

  5. 33 Posted by Alex "Alex... on 08 Dec, 2009 06:58 AM

    Alex "Alexspeed" Bachner's Avatar

    no need to excuse =)

    But i have a question before i file a bugreport, the uninstall backup/restore mechanisms are not jet in place right?

    so if i make a backup, install a bunch of mods, and then restore the old backup the mods i install dont get deleted

    thats not covered jet in the code right? so it cant uninstall jet when restoring a backup?

  6. Support Staff 34 Posted by jwvanderbeck on 08 Dec, 2009 07:01 AM

    jwvanderbeck's Avatar

    No the mods don't get deleted, and I don't think they should. That isn't standard restore functionality. Its more of an image functionality.

    If I make a backup of My Documents today, then next month I lose a file so I restore my backup -- all the files I made since then still remain. I just get a new copy of all the ones I backed up.

    If you backup your mods, then install some more, then restore, the installed ones will remain. That is by design.

  7. Support Staff 35 Posted by jwvanderbeck on 08 Dec, 2009 07:02 AM

    jwvanderbeck's Avatar

    In other words, the system isn't designed to "roll back" to a previous time with a perfect image. Just designed to backup your files in case you break something, and if you do, let you restore the files you broke with the ones you backed up. That's all.

  8. 36 Posted by Alex "Alex... on 08 Dec, 2009 07:03 AM

    Alex "Alexspeed" Bachner's Avatar

    okay i see, thank you for explaining it.

    But after i did the restore the mods i installed in the meantime that didnt got deleted are also gone from the modlist-window in the install/uninstall tab.

    if they are still installed they should remain there i think?

  9. Support Staff 37 Posted by jwvanderbeck on 08 Dec, 2009 07:11 AM

    jwvanderbeck's Avatar

    Ok I see what you are saying. That is confusing, but a side effect of you restoring your older version of AddIns.xml which did not have them listed in it, so they don't show up.

    I could maybe make a prune function or something in the future to delete those mod's actual files, but i'd rather not try to cram an auto-uninstall into the restore system.

  10. 38 Posted by Alex "Alex... on 08 Dec, 2009 07:13 AM

    Alex "Alexspeed" Bachner's Avatar

    Just did a testrun with beta 1.9.4

    Its like i described above, the installed mods that didnt got deleted are gone from the modlist-window in the install/uninstall tab. So they cant be uninstalled any more with DAModder.

    I can of course delete them manually, but is that working as intended?

  11. 39 Posted by Alex "Alex... on 08 Dec, 2009 07:16 AM

    Alex "Alexspeed" Bachner's Avatar

    hm okay, that IS confusing you are right, i am not sure that is the best way for the tool to work, a user that has no knowledge of the actual files would think those mods are gone. Would probably install them again becoause he thinks he need to or install other ones that are conflicting with them...

    I am not sure how to solve that, maybe a popup that explains the process?

  12. Support Staff 40 Posted by jwvanderbeck on 08 Dec, 2009 07:22 AM

    jwvanderbeck's Avatar

    Well I could always ask the user if they want to restore the addins "clean" (not sure the best wording right now), in which case i'd just wipe the whle fodler and restore it to the backup. So it would be exacatly as it was when you did the backup.

  13. 41 Posted by Alex "Alex... on 08 Dec, 2009 07:31 AM

    Alex "Alexspeed" Bachner's Avatar

    that sounds like a option if thats doable.

    so i click restore on my backup,
    then i get asked "do you want to keep the mods you installed since this backup"
    - if no then wipe and restore, - if yes then the files stay and the entries in the addins.xml too

    it needs to cover the addins folder and the override folder too, is that doable?
    wow i dont want to know how complicated that code must be...

  14. jwvanderbeck closed this discussion on 09 Dec, 2009 06:26 PM.

Comments are currently closed for this discussion. You can start a new one.

Keyboard shortcuts

Generic

? Show this help
ESC Blurs the current field

Comment Form

r Focus the comment reply box
^ + ↩ Submit the comment

You can use Command ⌘ instead of Control ^ on Mac